Visiting Mom

Standard

I woke up with a craving for nuts, so I spent the day with family.

My mother is in the Alzheimers unit of a local assisted living facility.
She was having lunch, and I walked up and said, “Hi, Mom.”
I took her hand in mine only to find that her hand was covered with peas, mashed potatoes and gravy.

Things like this gross me out, so I dashed to the bathroom.
When I entered there was another little old lady sitting on the toilet.
Before I could shut the door, it was bombs away with lots of sound effects.

This really shook me. It took me several minutes to regain my composure.

When I sat back down at Mom’s table,
the lady next to her looked at me and said, “You are pretty.”
All things considered this was a good visit.

Leave a Reply

