Chippy And The Bees Nest

Standard

“Chippy, what do you want? Dave isn’t here, and my mom says I can’t be around you anymore since you hung me from that tree limb, and I shit my pants. She is never going to clean up a mess like that again.”

Chippy said that if I came out and held the flashlight on this giant bees’ nest he found, he was going to destroy it with his BB gun. He said, it is so dark out they won’t get us, and afterwards we could have some of his mom’s cherry pie.

I love cherry pie, so I followed him over to the huge hedge that separated our yards. He shined the light on a pine tree thirty feet away. The bees’ nest was as big as a basketball.
He handed me the light and we laid on our stomachs. I shined the light and poof, poof, poof, Chippy put three holes in that nest. The bees swarmed and must have traveled down the beam of light.

Suddenly we had bees all around us. I got stung on the end of my nose. I got up and ran, fell over a small tree stump, rolled in the grass and the bees were gone. Chippy ran and lunged head first into the hedge. He had been stung several times, so I got him out of the hedge and walked him to his back door. That’s when he told me there was no cherry pie.

When my mom saw me later she wanted to know why my nose looked like a red golf ball.
Chippy and I never played again.

Leave a Reply

