Hey Fat Man, Come Here!

Standard

Many years ago, I was recuperating from emergency gall bladder surgery in a hospital in Chesapeake, Virginia. I would walk to the end of the hall and back, strengthening my stomach muscles.

As I would pass by one doorway, an ancient black woman with a raspy voice would yell, “Hey fat man, come in here.” After three days of this, I finally looked into her room and she yelled, out of her mind, “Hey fat man, come here!”
Her head was no bigger than a grapefruit. I swear to God she said, “Let me see your wiener.”
I left her room quickly. I closed her door.
Sometimes I regret that I did not show this woman, in her final days, something she really wanted to see.

Leave a Reply

